Addicted to curiosity

20140814_123730“It is perfectly true, as philosophers say, that life must be understood backwards. But they forget the other proposition, that it must be lived forwards.”
Soren Kierkegaard

I have always been extremely shy and never one to make or keep friends very easily. I was very lucky to have three of my grandparents until my adulthood, and each one a fantastic storyteller. So I learned early on how to listen to great storytellers. I think I gravitated toward school work as my best friend and had a great first grade teacher who got me addicted to curiosity too.

But when I lost my final grandparent, I was early in my career here in Montana. Whether right or wrong my patients filled the hole in my existence for storytelling, and listening, learning and enjoying their stories has kept the love of medicine alive and fresh for me.

I cannot tell you how incredibly lucky I feel to have taken the path of Internal Medicine for having this unique opportunity to sit and listen with each and every patient. I was going to be a Veterinarian and got my degree in Animal and Veterinary Science after falling in love with James Herriot’s books but had an adviser midway through point me toward medical school. Kierkegaard above says that life must be understood backwards but that it must be lived forwards. I am darn glad looking back, things happened the way they did.

2 thoughts on “Addicted to curiosity

    1. Thank you very much ! My patients have been very courteous and extremely supportive with all of the transitions in the past several years, and have been incredibly helpful. Even 22 years into this I still cannot believe how wonderful and malleable the human spirit is. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

