Ocular Histoplasmosis, a leading cause of blindness in 20-40 year olds

Being diagnosed and treated for Ocular Histoplasmosis in my thirties, I am very thankful for the prompt care received.  I have included a link from the National Eye Institute for general information.https://nei.nih.gov/health/histoplasmosis/histoplasmosis

I was raised in the Ohio river valley area of the Midwest where Histoplasma Capsulatum fungus lives.  I do not recall ever being sick with Histoplasmosis, but in my thirties I was working one weekend putting up a prefabricated shed with my father in law.  The boards looked wavy along the edge and not straight (like the painting of the window frame of the view from the studio).

Out the studio window, Missouri River, acrylic
Out the studio window, Missouri River, acrylic

So a reminder, if you have been raised in an area where Histoplasmosis occurs, be sure to seek immediate attention if you have any change in your vision.  I had never heard of this condition until I got diagnosed.

Each painting I crank out now, I do with gratitude for the wonderful docs who treated me.  I do have some mild permanent changes in my left eye but most days never notice it. So I am very thankful for the retained vision of my left eye.

Leave a Reply

